Back to Top

Youth Media Awards

During this time of the year librarians, teachers, and children’s literature lovers become giddy with excitement, and it’s not because of the upcoming winter break or holiday season. It’s Youth Media Awards season! The best of children’s and young adult literature will receive a distinguished seal of approval by the American Library Association (ALA) at the 2013 ALA Youth Media Awards on January 28th.

Out of all the incredible awards highlighted including the Caldecott Award, the Coretta Scott King Award, and the Printz Award, the one I personally look forward to the most is the John Newbery Medal, an award given to “the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children”.

After reading book after book throughout this year wondering which one will be honored with this award in 2012, I can’t help but think of past winners, which is no small list.  It spans 92 years of renowned children’s books, many of which I hold very close to my heart. So, one quiet evening in the children’s room I set out to choose my favorites, what started as an enormous list that I forced myself to narrow down to six favorite titles by the end of the evening. This is what I came up with:

My Top 3 Favorite Newbery Award Winners

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien

The Giver
 by Lois Lowry

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle





My Top 3 Favorite Newbery Honor Books

Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai




What’s your favorite Newbery Award book? Check out this list and please share in the comments below! If you interested in watching the 2013 ALA Youth Media Award announcements live, you can tune into this webcast  on January 28th, 2013 @ 10am CST.


Leave a Reply

We welcome your comments and questions. Please stay on topic and keep comments civil. We reserve the right to remove any comments that contain profanity, personal attacks, or spam.