http://www.lawrence.lib.ks.us
Back to Top

Uncategorized

Author Visit: Charlotte Hinger

Charlotte Hinger, award winning novelist and Kansas historian, will give a presentation about her Lottie Albright mystery series.

Hinger is also the author of the historical novel, Come Spring, which won the Medicine Pipe Bearers award from Western Writers of America and was a Spur finalist. The first book in the Lottie Albright series, Deadly Descent, won the AZ Publisher’s Award for Best Mystery/Suspense. In 2016 University Press of Oklahoma published her non-fiction book Nicodemus: Post-Reconstruction Politics and Racial Justice.

Join Ms.Hinger as she talks about her writing and her Kansas locales.  No registration is required.

 

Doc Discussions Presents: Unbranded

Sixteen mustangs, four men, 3000 miles, and one dream: to ride border to border, Mexico to Canada, up the spine of the American West.

On SAT, Oct 21 at 3:30 PM in the Auditorium, we’ll watch Unbranded together, then talk about it! Doc Discussions is a library program that brings documentary film buffs together. Feel free to watch at home and come just for the talk, too.

The documentary tracks four fresh-out-of-college buddies as they take on wild mustangs to be their trusted mounts, and set out on the adventure of a lifetime. Their wildness of spirit, in both man and horse, is quickly dwarfed by the wilderness they must navigate: a 3000-mile gauntlet that is equally indescribable and unforgiving.

WATCH IT: 3:30–5:15 PM
TALK ABOUT IT: 5:20–6 PM

View the trailer:

REVIEW SOURCE

Book Squad Podcast 012: The One Where We (Finally) Disagree

Book Squad Podcast 012: The One Where We (Finally) Disagree

 TWICE a month, the librarians are in, with their favorite recommendations in Two Book Minimum, a toe-to-toe discussion on a book or topic, as well as news from the book world, updates from Lawrence Public Library, and beyond. Listen to the latest episode:

Bookish News:

The 2017 National Book Award shortlist for Fiction

Kazuo Ishiguro won the Nobel prize in literature!

Sisters in Crime an organization whose stated mission is “to promote the ongoing advancement, recognition and professional development of women crime writers”—turns 30 this year!


Two Book Minimum:

Bonus books:

What I Did For a Duke by Julie Anne Long
Douglas Adams – readalike for The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet
Off Base by Tessa Bailey (note: read in private! Or not…)
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender – readalike for Like Water for Chocolate

 

She Said/She Said: ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE by Anthony Doerr (2014)

We are actually disagreeing for once! Hear our takes on this Pulitzer Prize winning novel about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France.

Readalikes for All the Light

Also, Polli mentioned the movie Amelie in connection to this book (the interconnectedness of everyday lives, beautiful french settings, etc.) and, since it’s one of our shared faves, here’s a video :

Upcoming Events:

FRI OCT 20 @7PM Mic Supremacy #2 at Raven Bookstore: “Mic Supremacy is a POC led and centered open mic night open to the Lawrence community.”

SUN Oct 29 @2PM“Pure Imagination – Music from the Movies” — Jayhawk Harp Ensemble coming to play music from beloved movies like Wizard of Oz, Harry Potter, Beauty and the Beast, etc. in the library Auditorium

We’ll mention this again next time, but ELECTION DAY is Tues, Nov 7th – there’s now an option to sign up for text or email updates to act as reminders in upcoming elections. Go to douglascountyks.org and find Voting & Elections under Popular Services. GO VOTE, IT’S IMPORTANT

 


This episode was produced by Jim Barnes in the Sound & Vision studio. Our theme song is by Heidi Lynne Gluck.
You can find the Book Squad Podcast on iTunesStitcher, or SoundCloud. Please subscribe and leave us comments – we’d love to know what you think, and your comments make it easier for other people to find our podcast. Happy reading and listening! xo, Polli & Kate

Author Visit: Charlotte Hinger

Charlotte Hinger, award winning novelist and Kansas historian, will give a presentation about her Lottie Albright mystery series at 2:30 on Monday, October 23rd at Presbyterian Manor, 1429 Kasold Drive.

Hinger is also the author of the historical novel, Come Spring, which won the Medicine Pipe Bearers award from Western Writers of America and was a Spur finalist. The first book in the Lottie Albright series, Deadly Descent, won the AZ Publisher’s Award for Best Mystery/Suspense. In 2016 University Press of Oklahoma published her non-fiction book Nicodemus: Post-Reconstruction Politics and Racial Justice.

Join Ms.Hinger as she talks about her writing and her Kansas locales.  No registration is required.

Register Now + Put Your Brains Together to Benefit the Library

Gather your smartest friends (up to 8 per team), grab a cocktail, and show us your literary trivia skills at the first-ever Biblio Friends & Foundation Trivia Night!

On THU, October 19 at 7 PM at Maceli’s, local trivia master and sardonic host Andy Morton (of Lawrence’s Smackdown Trivia fame) will push your brain to the limit for a good cause.

We’ll provide delicious desserts and snacks to fuel your brain.

Register your team now with Angela at ahyde@lplks.org.

Each person on the winning team will receive a basket full of gift cards, library goodies, free books, and treats.

Admission: Friends of the Library get in free, but you can join at the door for $10 individual/ $15 household. Doors open 6:30 PM, question rounds begin at 7 PM. For more info, visit: LPLFriends.org

 

AARP Safe Driving Class

AARP Driving Safety Class will be held in Meeting Room B from 10:00am-3:00pm  on Thursday and Friday, November 16 & 17, 2017.  There will be an hour’s lunch break at Noon.

This is a refresher class that includes driving techniques, information on new laws and techniques for older drivers. Insurance discount certificates will be given to those completing both days of the class. 

Space is limited. Registration is required.  

Cost for the two-day class is $15 for AARP members (membership must be shown), $20 for non-members.  Payment will be made to the instructor at the first class. 

Parking is available in the adjacent parking garage at the cost of $1 for the day or streetside metered parking is available around the library.

To register or for more details about the class, contact Pattie Johnston at the Library—785-843-3833 extension 115.

Surprise Skype with Acclaimed Author Laurie Halse Anderson

Breaking news! Laurie Halse Anderson, the New York Times bestselling author of children’s and young adult novels like Chains, Speak, and Wintergirls is coming to us live via Skype on SAT, October 14 from 2-3 PM in our Auditorium.

The call will start at 2:30 PM, but we’ll get the convo started at 2 PM.

“Known for tackling tough subjects with humor and sensitivity, her work has earned numerous international, national, and state awards. Two of her books, Speak and Chains, were National Book Award finalists. Chains was also short-listed for the Carnegie medal.” (1)

All ages are welcome, but Teens have a chance to win signed copies of Anderson’s books and browse Message in the Margins, our new teen book club.


(1) Source: Author’s website

Music @ Your Library

On Sunday, October 8th at 1 pm we’re hosting students from the String Department of  KU’s School of Music. Come enjoy a relaxing afternoon as they perform pieces they’ve been learning throughout the semester in our auditorium. Free and open to the public!

Sunday Storytime…She’s Baaaack!

On SundayOctober 8th at 3:30 PM in the Auditorium, Miss Deja Brooks returns for an all-ages storytime with stories celebrating our local LGBTQIA+ community, families of all kinds, fun, and of course—RAINBOWS!

Over 200 people came out for Miss Deja’s premiere at the library in June 2017! Party pix are here!

Following the lead of Harvey Milk Memorial Library and Brooklyn Public Library, we’re hoping our own version of drag queen storytime is as sparkly and glamorous as it is a safe space for, “positive, and unabashedly queer role models…where kids can imagine a world where people can present as they wish, where dress up is real.” (SOURCE: Drag Queen Story Hour)

2017 Deja's Reading Rainbow 600 dpi

Teens: You Read, We’ll Clear Your Fines Starting Oct 8

Read what you like and use the library.

That’s what Teen Read Week (OCT 8-14) is all about and this year we’re making it easier than ever by reading away those pesky fines.

Wait, whaaaa?

Yes! All you gotta do is check in with library staff at any of the listed times and locations, and get those charges outta the way.


The Sked…

  • Sunday 10/8:  12-6 PM  in Meeting Room C
  • Monday 10/9: 3-9 PM in Meeting Room C
  • Tuesday 10/10: 3-9 PM in the Teen Study Room
  • Wednesday 10/11: 2-5 PM in the Auditorium, 5-9 PM in Meeting Room C
  • Thursday 10/12: 3-9 PM in Meeting Room C
  • Friday 10/13: 9 AM – 7 PM in Meeting Room C
  • Saturday 10/14: 9 AM – 6 PM in Meeting Room C

How It Works…

  • Show up to one of our designated fine read-off times and locations
  • Find the librarian
  • Give your name and library card number (if you have it)
  • Find a good spot, relax, and read

Seriously? Yep.

  • You’ll receive $5 off your fines for the fist 30 minutes, and $2.50 for every 15 minutes after that. (Heads up that we’ll ask you to read a minimum of 30 minutes at the read-off)
  • Return as often as it takes to get your balance down to $0.0
  • At the end of Teen Read week we’ll tally up everyone’s amounts and update their accounts
  • Open to 6-12th graders
  • You can only read for yourself
  • You can’t earn credit towards future fines

Don’t miss out! Get rid of your fines!