http://www.lawrence.lib.ks.us
Back to Top

Uncategorized

Flu Shot Clinic

It’s that time of year again, and if you need one, come get one!

On Thursday, NOV 2 between 3:30–5:45 PM in the Auditorium, flu shots will be available from the Lawrence Douglas County Health Department and can be covered by insurance, check, cash or credit. Questions? Email Gwen: ggeigerwolfe@lplks.org

Author Talk: Legendary Statistician Solves a Serial Killer Mystery

On ThursdayNOV 9 from 7-8:30 PM, celebrated baseball statistician and true crime expert Bill James, along with his daughter and researcher Rachel McCarthy James, will be here to talk about their new book, The Man From the Train.

When James first learned about a string of murders between 1898 and 1912—all within walking distance from the local train station—he began to investigate others that fit the same pattern.

After sifting through thousands of local newspapers, court transcripts, and public records, he and his daughter Rachel made an astonishing discovery, and in turn, they uncovered one of the deadliest serial killers in America. We’ll meet in the Auditorium.

Photo courtesy of The Kansas City Star

 

Author Visit: Charlotte Hinger

Charlotte Hinger, award winning novelist and Kansas historian, will give a presentation about her Lottie Albright mystery series.

Hinger is also the author of the historical novel, Come Spring, which won the Medicine Pipe Bearers award from Western Writers of America and was a Spur finalist. The first book in the Lottie Albright series, Deadly Descent, won the AZ Publisher’s Award for Best Mystery/Suspense. In 2016 University Press of Oklahoma published her non-fiction book Nicodemus: Post-Reconstruction Politics and Racial Justice.

Join Ms.Hinger as she talks about her writing and her Kansas locales.  No registration is required.

 

Understanding Alzheimer’s Disease Seminar

“Support for caregivers is crucial. Connecting with other people who are going through the same thing is a helpful way to share ideas and learn more,” says LMH’s Aynsley Anderson Sosinski.

On SaturdayNOV 4 from 9:30 AM–2:30 PM in our Auditorium, join Lawrence Memorial Hospital and community partners for a free multi-session seminar on the many aspects of Alzheimer’s Disease.

We’ll host drop-in sessions and exhibitors all day; no registration required. For more information on session times and topics, go to lmh.org or contact Kathleen at kmorgan@lplks.org.


SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

An Overview of Alzheimer’s Disease
9:30 – 10:15 AM
Dr. Robert Beck | Lawrence Neurology Specialists

Current Research into Alzheimer’s Disease
10:30 – 11:15 AM
Eric Vidoni | Associate Professor, University of Kansas School of Medicine & Assistant Director of KU Alzheimer’s Disease Center

Financial Considerations When Someone Has Alzheimer’s Disease
11:30 AM – 12:15 PM
Barbara Braa | Trust Officer, Central Bank of the Midwest

Supportive Decision-Making Skills for Patients and Caregivers
12:45 – 1:30 PM
Dana Lambert | AgeWise Advocacy and Consulting

Caring for the Caregiver
1:45 – 2:30 PM
Janet Ikenberry | Director of Health and Human Services, Douglas Co. Senior Resource Center

Diverse Dialogues Presents: Class, Race, and Marxism

On MondayOCT 30 from 7-8:30 PM in the Auditorium, join KU American Studies professors David Roediger and Elizabeth Esch, and Tony Bolden (KU African and African-American Studies professor) for a discussion around Roediger’s latest book, Class, Race, and Marxism.

Roediger’s influential work on working people who have come to identify as white has so illuminated questions of identity that its grounding in Marxism has sometimes been missed. This new volume implicitly and explicitly reminds us that his ideas, and the best studies of whiteness generally come from within the Marxist tradition.

In his historical studies of the intersections of race, settler colonialism, and slavery, in his major chapter (with Elizabeth Esch) on race and the management of labor, in his detailing of the origins of critical studies of whiteness within Marxism, and in his reflections on the history of solidarity, Roediger argues that racial divisions not only tell us about the history of capitalism but also shed light on the logic of capital (from versobooks.com).

This event is in partnership with the Langston Hughes Center, the Lawrence Public Library and the Department of African and African-American Studies.

Diverse Dialogues David Roediger KU logos

 

 

 

 

Video Basics: Filming an Interview

Take your school assignment, college application, or family history preservation to the next level with a high-quality video for your next project. We’ll show you how!

On Thursday, OCT 26 from 6-7 PM in the S+V Studio, we’ll cover the basics of filming an interview including lighting, sound, cameras, and more in the SOUND + VISION Studio’s new video room.

Email Jim if you have questions: jbarnes@lplks.org. All ages welcome!

Doc Discussions Presents: Unbranded

Sixteen mustangs, four men, 3000 miles, and one dream: to ride border to border, Mexico to Canada, up the spine of the American West.

On SAT, Oct 21 at 3:30 PM in the Auditorium, we’ll watch Unbranded together, then talk about it! Doc Discussions is a library program that brings documentary film buffs together. Feel free to watch at home and come just for the talk, too.

The documentary tracks four fresh-out-of-college buddies as they take on wild mustangs to be their trusted mounts, and set out on the adventure of a lifetime. Their wildness of spirit, in both man and horse, is quickly dwarfed by the wilderness they must navigate: a 3000-mile gauntlet that is equally indescribable and unforgiving.

WATCH IT: 3:30–5:15 PM
TALK ABOUT IT: 5:20–6 PM

View the trailer:

REVIEW SOURCE

Book Squad Podcast 012: The One Where We (Finally) Disagree

Book Squad Podcast 012: The One Where We (Finally) Disagree

 TWICE a month, the librarians are in, with their favorite recommendations in Two Book Minimum, a toe-to-toe discussion on a book or topic, as well as news from the book world, updates from Lawrence Public Library, and beyond. Listen to the latest episode:

Bookish News:

The 2017 National Book Award shortlist for Fiction

Kazuo Ishiguro won the Nobel prize in literature!

Sisters in Crime an organization whose stated mission is “to promote the ongoing advancement, recognition and professional development of women crime writers”—turns 30 this year!


Two Book Minimum:

Bonus books:

What I Did For a Duke by Julie Anne Long
Douglas Adams – readalike for The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet
Off Base by Tessa Bailey (note: read in private! Or not…)
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender – readalike for Like Water for Chocolate

 

She Said/She Said: ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE by Anthony Doerr (2014)

We are actually disagreeing for once! Hear our takes on this Pulitzer Prize winning novel about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France.

Readalikes for All the Light

Also, Polli mentioned the movie Amelie in connection to this book (the interconnectedness of everyday lives, beautiful french settings, etc.) and, since it’s one of our shared faves, here’s a video :

Upcoming Events:

FRI OCT 20 @7PM Mic Supremacy #2 at Raven Bookstore: “Mic Supremacy is a POC led and centered open mic night open to the Lawrence community.”

SUN Oct 29 @2PM“Pure Imagination – Music from the Movies” — Jayhawk Harp Ensemble coming to play music from beloved movies like Wizard of Oz, Harry Potter, Beauty and the Beast, etc. in the library Auditorium

We’ll mention this again next time, but ELECTION DAY is Tues, Nov 7th – there’s now an option to sign up for text or email updates to act as reminders in upcoming elections. Go to douglascountyks.org and find Voting & Elections under Popular Services. GO VOTE, IT’S IMPORTANT

 


This episode was produced by Jim Barnes in the Sound & Vision studio. Our theme song is by Heidi Lynne Gluck.
You can find the Book Squad Podcast on iTunesStitcher, or SoundCloud. Please subscribe and leave us comments – we’d love to know what you think, and your comments make it easier for other people to find our podcast. Happy reading and listening! xo, Polli & Kate

Author Visit: Charlotte Hinger

Charlotte Hinger, award winning novelist and Kansas historian, will give a presentation about her Lottie Albright mystery series at 2:30 on Monday, October 23rd at Presbyterian Manor, 1429 Kasold Drive.

Hinger is also the author of the historical novel, Come Spring, which won the Medicine Pipe Bearers award from Western Writers of America and was a Spur finalist. The first book in the Lottie Albright series, Deadly Descent, won the AZ Publisher’s Award for Best Mystery/Suspense. In 2016 University Press of Oklahoma published her non-fiction book Nicodemus: Post-Reconstruction Politics and Racial Justice.

Join Ms.Hinger as she talks about her writing and her Kansas locales.  No registration is required.

Register Now + Put Your Brains Together to Benefit the Library

Gather your smartest friends (up to 8 per team), grab a cocktail, and show us your literary trivia skills at the first-ever Biblio Friends & Foundation Trivia Night!

On THU, October 19 at 7 PM at Maceli’s, local trivia master and sardonic host Andy Morton (of Lawrence’s Smackdown Trivia fame) will push your brain to the limit for a good cause.

We’ll provide delicious desserts and snacks to fuel your brain.

Register your team now with Angela at ahyde@lplks.org.

Each person on the winning team will receive a basket full of gift cards, library goodies, free books, and treats.

Admission: Friends of the Library get in free, but you can join at the door for $10 individual/ $15 household. Doors open 6:30 PM, question rounds begin at 7 PM. For more info, visit: LPLFriends.org