http://www.lawrence.lib.ks.us
Back to Top
The library will be closed July 9 to July 25 as we move to our new building. Visit us at 707 Vermont St. starting Saturday, July 26!

young adult fantasy

Under the Sea: A Mermaid Booklist

One of the hottest trends in young adult fiction is stories featuring mermaids. These creatures can be dark and dangerous, but some of these novels have a dash of romance, too. Explore the depths of the oceans by breaking open one of these tales from under the sea!

Read More..

Staff Picks: “Cinder” by Marissa Meyer

I’m a fan of fairy tale retellings. From classics like Robin McKinley‘s twists on folk tales, to Jackson Pearce’s updated versions of Hansel and Gretel, Red Riding Hood, or her forthcoming adaptation of The Little Mermaid, I never get tired of hearing a new spin on a fairy tale.

But nothing is cooler than Cinderella as a cyborg. In Cinder, the first in the Lunar Chronicles, Marissa Meyer has gone beyond a simple retelling and created a fantastical new universe by transporting the classic Cinderella story to New Beijing, a futuristic world where former Earth residents have colonized the moon. Read More..

Teen Picks: “Bitterblue” by Kristin Cashore

 Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore

What is it about? Now eighteen and Queen of Monsea, Bitterblue has found that she is surrounded by lies. Her advisors have presented her with a distorted version of reality and she is just now discovering that her entire kingdom is filled to the brim with deceit. These lies hide behind corners and inside people Bitterblue thought she knew. They embed themselves into everyone around her, including the people she loves the most. They torture these people and create a mist around any logical thought, almost as if King Leck were still alive and forcing people to do his bidding by manipulating their minds. Read More..

Teen Picks: “A Living Nightmare” by Darren Shan

A Living Nightmare by Darren Shan

What was it about? In the tradition of Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Read More..

Staff Picks: “Daughter of Smoke and Bone” by Laini Taylor

“Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well.”

Karou is just like any other art student living in Prague. She has blue hair (that grows out of her head that shade) and a loser of an ex-boyfriend (who dresses up as a vampire to scare tourists and models in her life drawing class just to annoy her). She hangs out with her best friend at Poison Kitchen eating goulash. She’s got a perfectly normal part-time job, traveling through doors that lead to far away corners of the earth, collecting teeth and trading in wishes. The fantastical creatures she draws in her sketchbook aren’t a product of her imagination; they’re the only family she’s ever known, including Brimstone, the otherwordly creature who raised her.

Read More..