http://www.lawrence.lib.ks.us
Back to Top
The library will be closed July 9 to July 25 as we move to our new building. Visit us at 707 Vermont St. starting Saturday, July 26!

young adult horror

Staff Picks: “The Coldest Girl in Coldtown” by Holly Black

Guys, I love vampires. But I am still mostly skeptical of vampire books. It takes a new concept and a skilled writer to really make them work for me.

Luckily, I’ve enjoyed Holly Black’s writing, and I loved her take on vampire mythology in The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, even if it wasn’t entirely original. Though for centuries vampires were under the radar, it only took one crazy guy to infect tons of people, turning entire cities “cold” and now vampire are a normal part of life. You know, just the stuff of school assemblies.

Read More..

Like, Try, Why #2: Horror

Did you just finish an awesome book that made you want to stalk the stacks for another similar title? The Lawrence Public Library Teen Zone staff can help you find your next favorite book. This week we’re spotlighting horror with serial killers, ghosts, and vampires! Read More..

A Spooky Haunted House Booklist

October is the perfect month to curl up with a scary book. My favorite kind of spooky stories are about haunted houses, and my favorite of these is “The Fall of the House of Usher” by Edgar Allan Poe. You can read it and other creepy tales in his collected works, available in the Teen Zone.

We have lots of novels that feature haunted houses, and you can check out to celebrate Teen Read Week. The Theme is “It Came from the Library” and culminates in a teen dance and costume party with crafts, snacks, games, prizes, a DJ, and a photo booth.

Read More..

Staff Picks: “The Immortal Rules” by Julie Kawaga

Every time we get a new vampire book, I’m astonished someone is still publishing them. In the young adult section here at Lawrence Public Library, we have 198 books under the the subject heading vampires–fiction. I’m a fan of vampire books, but after some disappointing selections, I’ve become wary of new additions to this bloated genre.

But I decided to take a chance on The Immortal Rules, and I’m glad I did. Julie Kawaga has made a unique and gripping contribution to young adult vampire fiction.

Read More..

A Taste for Brains: A Zombie Booklist

October is a month for all sorts of monsters: vampires, werewolves, and our favorite, ZOMBIES! This month we’re hosting a workshop to help you survive the zombie apocalypse (any disaster, really) and a clinic for you to get your hair, makeup, and clothes zombified before heading out to Lawrence’s Zombie Walk. Get in the spirit by checking out one of these zombie books! Whether you like your horror with a dash of romance, a dose of horror, or just plain gore, we’ve got something for you.

Read More..

Teen Picks: “A Living Nightmare” by Darren Shan

A Living Nightmare by Darren Shan

What was it about? In the tradition of Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Read More..